July 26, 2014
Reshapingourfam

no comments

Playing the Harlot?

This morning I wanted to share with you a little about my Family and where God has brought us. Like I mentioned in my Welcome post I have been married to my Husband for 8 years. Just like any couple we have been through our share of ups and downs. We have defamed, dishonored, and doubted one another. We have both failed one another and ignored one another.

As God has been growing both of us in the spiritual realm he has been growing us in our relationship as well. We hit rock bottom before we moved to SC and that made our move that much more difficult. I had allowed my sinful heart to seek admiration from another man. My hearts desires had changed long before I decided to have an inappropriate conversation with one of my Husbands friends. Over the course of my Husbands life he had one friend that he always enjoyed spending time with. They shared the same birthday and grew up together in Ohio. When my Husband and I met his friend was around quit often. I also became good friends with this man.

Before we moved to SC this friend of my husbands was over more because he had moved next door. I didn’t realize it at the time but spending so much time with him (even when my husband wasn’t around) made me too comfortable around him. I did not have any romantic feeling for this man but when a girl is feeling down or lonely those feelings don’t NEED to exist.

Over the course of time I allowed my sinful heart to express its desire for admiration, beauty, and intimacy.  I knew exactly how to push this mans buttons to say what I wanted to hear. There was no physical contact, but inappropriate talk was the result. Though looking back I was in a very dangerous situation. I was playing with fire! I ignored all the avenues that God had given me to remove myself from the situation. The bible says:

There hath no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it.

Don’t allow yourself to be deceived into thinking there is no way out. God is faithful to his word and when you believe this lie then you are calling God a liar! This two day conversation was far from honoring God and it sure didn’t honor my Husband. Of course upon the revealing of my sin the guilt, shame, and regret hit me like a wrecking ball. Now mind you, I have always followed the rules, been “good,” or at least tried to appear that way. This was devastating to my pride!

My Husband of course was furious. We had to work through trust, openness, and forgiveness. Understand that God created marriage to reflect the relationship Christ has with the church. If our marriages don’t reflect forgiveness, love, and faithfulness then we are dishonoring the institution God created to bring glory to his name. Thank God my Husband has forgiven me.

Don’t play with fire. Choose to do what is right and seek God to help you maintain it. Just as my Husband forgave me through this terrible display of unfaithfulness, God has also forgiven me and he will you as well.

Don’t play the Harlot as Israel did but be faithful first to God then your husband!

With Great Love & Truth

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

Natural Remedies for Life

"All that man needs for health and healing has been provided by God in nature, the challenge of science is to find it." Philippus Theophrastrus Bombast that of Aureolus ~ Paracelsus (1493-1541)

Stories of Our Boys

Stories from a mom of 4 boys, to make you laugh & encourage you in your faith.

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

The Grace Between

the good byes of an army wife. the good hellos of an army life. the grace poured out between.

-- Mystery32

Mystery32

