July 27, 2014
Reshapingourfam

1 comment

Depression’s Cure

I went through a time of feeling inadequate, undeserving, and just plan tired of life. I had no desire for the things of God. I had just went through a period of unrepentant sin and selfish lust that resulted in broken relationships. It’s no wonder I doubted my salvation and purpose in life!

God created me to worship him alone and to substitute that to worship myself could only result in misery.  I knew this fact but to face it meant I had to face my sin and my truly deceitful heart. The bible states in Jeremiah 17:9

The heart is deceitful above all things,
And desperately wicked;
Who can know it?

My relationship with God would not be restored until I faced myself. I decided I needed to go back to the basics and that is what I did. I went to the OT and sought out who God really was. I was reminded that God:

Blesses obedience (1 Kings 3:5)

Keeps his promises (1 Kings 2:24; 5:12)

Punishes evil (1 Kings 2:32,44)

Hears the prayers of his people (2 Chr 7:1-3,12)

Controls all things (2 Chr 7:12-22)

Is a jealous God (1 Kings 14:22)

and many many more attributes…

Depression is a difficult matter to lump everyone into one category or one cause. I think this is a matter that has to be dealt with on an individual basis. As a Christian we often times forget who God is and we begin to rely on ourselves to make it through life. We get so exhausted and disappointed that the easiest way out is to give up. We find ourselves with more burdens on our plate than we can handle and instead of running to our sustainer we run to the world. We may reach out to alcohol, drugs, intimacy, entertainment, and anything else that masks our real problem; the problem with our hearts. Listen I have been there and done that! Ask God to:

see if there is any wicked way in me, And lead me in the way everlasting.

Psalm 139:24

I believe that the opposite of depression is gladness. A person who is thankful to God and is willing to surrender their mind to that idea will be changed. The mind is the center of one’s being and to allow it to “run wild” will only result in worldliness and selfishness. Focus your mind on thankfulness and on the truths found in scripture. When I began to do these two things my thoughts were directed towards my Holy God. Remembering God’s holiness then prompted me to deal with my sin and seek repentance. Depression is often a multilevel problem and should be approached with tenderness and all seriousness. To have joy in the Lord is to be right with him.

For

“He who would love life
And see good days,
Let him refrain his tongue from evil,
And his lips from speaking deceit.
Let him turn away from evil and do good;
Let him seek peace and pursue it.
For the eyes of the Lord are on the righteous,
And His ears are open to their prayers;
But the face of the Lord is against those who do evil.”

1 Peter 3:10-12

If your depression is severe I believe medication is a way to level out the mind and create a plateau to evaluate the route cause. I don’t think medication is the end all cure nor do I think it should be long-standing treatment for Christians. For the person reading this who doesn’t know what it means to be a Christian or doubts their salvation please see my Welcome post. To give a timeline on the use of medication is impossible. Turn to God’s word and your local church for support and guidance.

With Great Love & Truth,

One thought on “Depression’s Cure

  1. i needed to hear this today. Thanks 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

Natural Remedies for Life

"All that man needs for health and healing has been provided by God in nature, the challenge of science is to find it." Philippus Theophrastrus Bombast that of Aureolus ~ Paracelsus (1493-1541)

Stories of Our Boys

Stories from a mom of 4 boys, to make you laugh & encourage you in your faith.

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

The Grace Between

the good byes of an army wife. the good hellos of an army life. the grace poured out between.

-- Mystery32

Mystery32

