December 28, 2014
Reshapingourfam

1 comment

Holiday Slump

Over the recent month I have hit a real slump in life. A slump full of laziness, lounging, and loss. Having a break from homeschooling has kinda put a damper on my entire schedule. I don’t know if I am the only one; does this happen to you?

slump

You would think  a break from a fairly busy schedule would allow a period of rest and relaxation. Don’t get me wrong I have enjoyed some of this freedom but I have a more overwhelming feeling of being purposeless. I haven’t had a desire to get up early as I have done for months now. I have had no desire to plan our home-school schedule out for the last few months. I haven’t had much of a desire to study scripture, though this desire never truly disappears.

Keeping to a routine and staying active in study and planning I believe is a must for me. Once I feel like my time has been robbed I tend to get upset. For example: My husband’s job changed and we needed a babysitter two days a week. Those two days a week made it impossible to study scripture unless I wake up before 5 am (that’s depressing in of its self). After a few weeks I gave up my studies in the mornings, even though out of 7 days I only lose 2 days of early morning study. After that my schedule just fell apart.

As a Christian, study is very important! When your study habits fade then your heart starts to rule your decisions. What else do you base decisions on if scripture has been neglected? Your decisions begin to become more self-centered and at times possibly sinful. Scripture keeps our hearts in line and gives us a clear view of what God desire from us.

If your like me and second guess taking a break from your “schedule” don’t allow study of scripture to diminish. Find a new shorter study to embrace and allow it to refresh your soul. If you find yourself in a slump pick up an area of your schedule and begin working on it. Start planning a couple of weeks of home-school material. Begin organizing office supplies. Start a new book that has inspiration and truth from scripture.

We live in a mundane world. Full of mundane routines, necessities, and activity. As Christians one of our struggles is living this life and not losing motivation to honor God in these very moments. God doesn’t call everyone to do something great all the time, so we go through a lot of mundane decisions that should honor him. It’s hard to carry on through these seemingly unimportant times but we need to display resolve and perseverance. God calls us to honor him ALL THE TIME, not just during exciting times or busy times.

Get through this holiday slump and fight to stay motivated and active in the world around you. Honor God in your decisions and don’t allow your heart to lead you. Stay strong in scripture and your schedule if that is what you need. Take periods of planned time off but tackle a new and refreshing task. Do not grow weary in well-doing for in due season we shall reap if we faint not!

With Great Love and Truth,

One thought on “Holiday Slump

  1. Love this! It is easy to feel like everything is mundane and that it’s just another day. I loved when u said what else do you base decisions on if scripture has been neglected? Your decisions begin to become more self-centered and at times possibly sinful. Scripture keeps our hearts in line and gives us a clear view of what God desire from us. So true! Thank you for this post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

Natural Remedies for Life

"All that man needs for health and healing has been provided by God in nature, the challenge of science is to find it." Philippus Theophrastrus Bombast that of Aureolus ~ Paracelsus (1493-1541)

Stories of Our Boys

Stories from a mom of 4 boys, to make you laugh & encourage you in your faith.

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

-- Mystery32

Mystery32

