July 13, 2015
Reshapingourfam

no comments

Judges got it wrong!

Then the Angel of the Lord came up from Gilgal to Bochim, and said: “I led you up from Egypt and brought you to the land of which I swore to your fathers; and I said, ‘I will never break My covenant with you. And you shall make no covenant with the inhabitants of this land; you shall tear down their altars.’ But you have not obeyed My voice. Why have you done this?
Judges 2:1-2 nkjv

Reading Israel’s past and the road they chose makes my heart jump with suprising similarities!
image

It causes me to see my own reflection and to evaluate my true desires towards obedience to God. I want to reject the idea that I swim in the same dirty water as everyone else. I am shamed at the truth that my heart can so easily drown in the very same sins as this nation.

I want to close the book of Judges and fall to my knees praying for God’s grace in my own life!

You see through this book God never changes but his chosen nation does. Israel becomes less aware of God’s faithfulness and more alert to their inabilities and greed. They begin to resign the power they have in God to lay hold of selfish gain. They want to take the easier road but they don’t understand the consequences of that decision (though God clearly describes it).

Towards the middle of chapter 2, Israel weeps over their disobedience but only in a worldly sense. You see Israel wanted God’s compassion and grace but wasnt ready to obey. Isn’t this often true of us? We realize what we have done wrong but we aren’t willing to relinquish control and obey.

God’s faithfulness never fails but it’s carried out often with our obedience. We understand that God loves us and wants a relationship with us but we have to be regenerated by the spirit first and foremost. Without this initial change in our mind (to serve God only) we cannot live a pleasing life before him.

After we commit to obeying God and his word, we continue to change and submit to him until eternity. Our wishes should never supersede God’s commands and when they do we find ourselves in a very troublesome state.

Here we see a drastic change from the book of Joshua. The author has a different tone here in Judges and as we read I pray we really examine our deceitful hearts. Pray and allow God to produce a Godly sorrow in our hearts and seek true repentence if need be! God’s love and grace are never ceasing and he awaits to lavish us with it!

As I unfold this book I pray for a renewed sensitivity towards sin, a deeper understanding of God’s character, and finally a clear direction in obedience. Pray and read through this narrative with me and be blessed.

With Great Love and Truth,

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

Natural Remedies for Life

"All that man needs for health and healing has been provided by God in nature, the challenge of science is to find it." Philippus Theophrastrus Bombast that of Aureolus ~ Paracelsus (1493-1541)

Stories of Our Boys

Stories from a mom of 4 boys, to make you laugh & encourage you in your faith.

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

The Grace Between

the good byes of an army wife. the good hellos of an army life. the grace poured out between.

-- Mystery32

Mystery32

